“With less effort” Can’t believe the Tottenham Boy won PL player of the month

Heung-Min Son has been crowned the Premier League’s Player of the Month for September.

Winning the award for the fourth time in his career and making it back-to-back award winners for the Club after James Maddison scooped the prize in August, our Club captain has been in scintillating form which saw him bag six goals in four top-flight games last month.

The South Korean international opened his 2023/24 account in fine style with a hat-trick in our 5-2 win at Burnley on 2 September before notching his 150th goal for the Club as he scored twice in our 2-2 draw with Arsenal on 24 September, becoming our first player to bag a north London derby brace in the league at the Emirates.

He then swept home our opener as we beat Liverpool 2-1 at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium six days later, moving him within eight goals of our top five all-time goalscorers behind Cliff Jones on 159. His prolific form this month sees him sit joint-second in the goalscoring charts this term with six goals, level with Newcastle United’s Alexander Isak and two behind Manchester City’s Erling Haaland.

Sonny saw off competition from Manchester City’s Julian Alvarez, West Ham United’s Jarrod Bowen, Wolverhampton Wanderers’ Pedro Neto, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, Newcastle’s Kieran Trippier and Aston Villa’s Ollie Watkins to win the award.

Our Premier League Player of the Month winners

August, 1994 – Jurgen Klinsmann

December, 1998 – David Ginola

September, 2004 – Ledley King

April, 2007 – Dimitar Berbatov

April, 2007 – Robbie Keane

August, 2009 – Jermain Defoe

April, 2010 – Gareth Bale

October, 2010 – Rafael van der Vaart

November, 2011 – Scott Parker

January, 2012 – Gareth Bale (2)

February, 2013 – Gareth Bale (3)

March, 2013 – Jan Vertonghen

January, 2015 – Harry Kane

February, 2015 – Harry Kane (2)

March, 2016 – Harry Kane (3)

September, 2016 – Heung-Min Son

January, 2017 – Dele Alli

February, 2017 – Harry Kane (4)

April, 2017 – Heung-Min Son (2)

September, 2017 – Harry Kane (5)

December, 2017 – Harry Kane (6)

August, 2018 – Lucas Moura

October, 2020 – Heung-Min Son (3)

March, 2022 – Harry Kane (7)

August, 2023 – James Maddison

September, 2023 – Heung-Min Son (4


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *